School of Education IUB

Dark Water: The Art of Jakkai Siributr

Event series runs weekly on Sunday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, and Saturday from Aug 22 to Oct 23, 2017. (view upcoming)
  • Tuesday, August 22, 2017 all day (view)
  • Wednesday, August 23, 2017 all day (view)
  • Thursday, August 24, 2017 all day (view)
  • Friday, August 25, 2017 all day (view)
  • Saturday, August 26, 2017 all day (view)
  • Sunday, August 27, 2017 all day (view)
  • Tuesday, August 29, 2017 all day (view)
  • Wednesday, August 30, 2017 all day (view)
  • Thursday, August 31, 2017 all day (view)
  • Friday, September 1, 2017 all day (view)
  • Saturday, September 2, 2017 all day (view)
  • Sunday, September 3, 2017 all day (view)
  • Tuesday, September 5, 2017 all day (view)
  • Wednesday, September 6, 2017 all day (view)
  • Thursday, September 7, 2017 all day (view)
  • Friday, September 8, 2017 all day (view)
  • Saturday, September 9, 2017 all day (view)
  • Sunday, September 10, 2017 all day (view)
  • Tuesday, September 12, 2017 all day (view)
  • Wednesday, September 13, 2017 all day (view)
  • Thursday, September 14, 2017 all day (viewing)
  • Friday, September 15, 2017 all day (view)
  • Saturday, September 16, 2017 all day (view)
  • Sunday, September 17, 2017 all day (view)
  • Tuesday, September 19, 2017 all day (view)
  • Wednesday, September 20, 2017 all day (view)
  • Thursday, September 21, 2017 all day (view)
  • Friday, September 22, 2017 all day (view)
  • Saturday, September 23, 2017 all day (view)
  • Sunday, September 24, 2017 all day (view)
  • Tuesday, September 26, 2017 all day (view)
  • Wednesday, September 27, 2017 all day (view)
  • Thursday, September 28, 2017 all day (view)
  • Friday, September 29, 2017 all day (view)
  • Saturday, September 30, 2017 all day (view)
  • Sunday, October 1, 2017 all day (view)
  • Tuesday, October 3, 2017 all day (view)
  • Wednesday, October 4, 2017 all day (view)
  • Thursday, October 5, 2017 all day (view)
  • Friday, October 6, 2017 all day (view)
  • Saturday, October 7, 2017 all day (view)
  • Sunday, October 8, 2017 all day (view)
  • Tuesday, October 10, 2017 all day (view)
  • Wednesday, October 11, 2017 all day (view)
  • Thursday, October 12, 2017 all day (view)
  • Friday, October 13, 2017 all day (view)
  • Saturday, October 14, 2017 all day (view)
  • Sunday, October 15, 2017 all day (view)
  • Tuesday, October 17, 2017 all day (view)
'Dark Water' consists of three large scale embroideries (IDP Story Cloth 1-3), five photographs (Bannasarn Tribe 1-5) and  several perforative garments.   This series of work raises the issue of migrant workers from Myanmar in Thailand. Many of them escape religious and ethnic persecution in their own country hoping for a better life in Thailand but often find themselves victims of human trafficking as well as discrimination. Due to the lack of knowledge about regional history and strong nationalist sentiments in Thailand, the migrant workers have to deal with prejudice on a regular basis from their Thai counterparts. And many of them will try to adapt to its new surroundings and culture to make life easier.
Start
All Day Thursday September 14, 2017
Location
Mathers Museum
Contact Email
scwitzke@indiana.edu
view calendar